Pep Fujas, Torah Bright and an all-star cast of pros and amateurs look set for a challenging start to the inaugural Niseko Shootout Japow ProAM.

The Japow ProAM is one of three categories under the 2018-19 Niseko Shootout photo and film competition banner.

A total of 25 professional and amateur athlete-photographer teams will take to the mountains in and around Niseko between January 10-14 with the aim of capturing the best photo of the period, with ¥200,000 (US$2,000) up for grabs.

Contest organiser Winstead Heyward said with very little powder expected during the contest window, skiers, riders and photographers

would have to get creative in order to nail the winning shot.

“That’s the beauty of this competition – it’s held on set dates so teams have to work with whatever conditions Mother Nature throws at
them,” Heyward said.

“While there may not be many fresh tracks to be found in-resort, there is endless backcountry and lots of different terrain in and around
Niseko that competitors will be able to work with to get amazing powder shots.

“And there are plenty of ways to access it too – snow cat, snowmobile, heli or just old-fashioned hiking.”

Pro Teams

Caldera Guides Julian Carr Eric Sales
The Niseko Company Jesse Parkinson Shane Peel
The Niseko Company Jye Parkinson Shane Peel
Aaron Jamieson Photography Robin van gyn Aaron Jamieson
AJ Gallery Niseko Aimee Fuller Aaron Jamieson
Powderlife Lena Stoffel Aaron Jamieson
Powderlife Torah Bright Aaron Jamieson
Oyuki Japan Pep Fujas Darren Teasdale
Oyuki Japan Tim Mcchesney Darren Teasdale
Independent Kimmy Fasani Oscar Enander
Independent Chris Benchetler Oscar Enander
Independent Jamie Anderson Mike Yoshida

Amateur Teams

Hokkaido Core Snow Sports Jonas Eibenstein George Treble
Hanazono Evan Wilcox Daniel Honda
Yama Plus Toshi Pander Jimi Oertli
Nisade James Wisniewski Alex Bradbury
Independent James Winfield Teddy Laycock
Niseko Black Juan Berthold Toni Rodriguez
Niseko Black Aron Hayes Casey Purdie
Dragon Alliance Sam Nelson Sam Ingles
Independent Saki Hayashi Nolan Yoshiaki Isozaki
Yama Plus Cody Scheffelmaier Brendan Lugg
Hokkaido Core Snow Sports Cameron Bell Bosh Bowyer-knight
Independent Reilly McGlashan Winse Heyward
Independent Diana King Winse Heyward


Voting & judging

The public judging will take place over another five days between January 17 and 21 – voting is by liking photos that will be uploaded
into the Japow ProAM photo album on Niseko Tourism’s Facebook page! Voting ends at 23:59 on Jan 21st! So VOTE!

Winners will be announced on January 22.

For more info, SEE HERE.